The Judging Process

The judging process for the Rotary Districts and Clubs of NSW Emergency Services Community Awards (RESCA) is taken very seriously. We hold our judges to the highest standards of fairness, accuracy and integrity. The entire judging process adheres firmly to these guiding principles.

Panels of independent judges selected from across NSW will judge all nominations.

As well as looking at contributions within a nominee’s given Emergency Service Agency (ESA), judges will be specifically looking for examples of additional community service nominees have performed, above and beyond their normal ESA duties – whether paid or volunteer. All decisions of the judges are final; judges’ decisions cannot be appealed.

Up to 4 Finalists will be selected from each ESA (can be paid or volunteer). Finalists will be personally notified by the Chair of the RESCA Steering Committee, Ron Browne.

One winner per ESA (i.e. 7 Category Awards) and 2 overall winners (i.e 1 Paid and 1 Volunteer) will be announced at the Awards Dinner Saturday,14 August 2021. Finalists and partners will be invited to attend the dinner to celebrate their achievements.

Important Dates:

  • Nominations Open: Tuesday 30 March 2021
  • Nominations Close: Sunday 9 May 2021
  • Announcement of Finalists: Wednesday 16 June 2021
  • Awards Dinner: Saturday 14 August 2021